Breast Microsurgery
Breast Microsurgery
HAVE A QUESTION? Need a doctor referral? Call (843) 402-CARE

Our Doctors

Dr. Allen

Robert J. Allen, MD, is the pioneer of the muscle sparing DIEP/SIEA/S-GAP/I-GAP perforator flaps and a founder of The Center for Microsurgical Breast Reconstruction and the Group for the Advancement of Breast Reconstruction. Dr. Allen received his medical degree from the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC), and completed his residency in general and plastic surgery at Louisiana State University (LSU), and a fellowship in microsurgery at New York University Medical Center (NYU). He is Clinical Professor of Plastic Surgery at NYU Medical Center, Medical University of South Carolina, and LSU Health Sciences Center.



Dr. James Craigie

James Craigie, MD, earned his MD from the Medical University of South Carolina where he also completed his residency. Following his residency he completed a fellowship at Louisiana State University Medical Center. Dr. Craigie is board certified in plastic surgery and specializes in muscle sparing breast reconstruction utilizing the patient's own fatty tissue. He conducts 70-100 breast reconstruction surgeries each year, along with all types of body contouring and cosmetic breast surgery as part of the process of breast reconstruction. Prior to joining The Center for Natural Breast Reconstruction, Dr. Craigie opened a general plastic surgery practice in North Carolina and completed advanced training in micro-vascular breast reconstruction in New Orleans. Learn more about Dr. Craigie.



Dr. Kline

Richard Kline, MD, earned his MD from the Medical University of South Carolina and completed his plastic surgery residency at Louisiana State University (LSU), where he trained in microsurgery with Dr. Allen, then pioneering the DIEP and SIEA flaps at LSU. After his residency at LSU, Dr. Kline spent a year studying craniofacial surgery under the direction of Dr. Anthony Wolfe in Miami. Dr. Kline spent several years in full-time academic surgical practice, first at LSU in New Orleans, then at the Medical University of South Carolina, before founding East Cooper Plastic Surgery in 2000. Learn more about Dr. Kline.



Dr. LoTempio



Maria LoTempio, MD, earned a bachelor of science in nursing from Georgetown University, and her MD from State University of New York, Buffalo, School of Medicine. She completed an otolaryngology/head and neck residency at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, and a plastic surgery residency at the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC), where she also did a Breast Microsurgery fellowship under Dr. Robert Allen. She is board certified in otolaryngology.





Dr. Massey


Marga Massey, MD, is double-board certified Plastic / Reconstructive and General Surgeon and a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons with a focus on Breast Reconstruction and Vascularized Lymph Node Transfer for lymphedema. Dr. Marga earned her MD as well as completed a residency in general surgery from Duke University. She trained in plastic surgery with a focus on microsurgery at the University of California, San Francisco. Additionally, she was an Assistant Professor of Surgery at the University of Utah and participates as a research collaborator on many research projects. Learn more about Dr. Massey.




Dr. Sueng-Jun O

Sueng-Jun O, MD, is board certified in surgery and plastic surgery. He earned his MD and completed his residency at Jackson Memorial Hospital at the University of Miami in Florida. He spent the next decade sharpening his skills as an Assistant Professor at both the University of Florida in Gainesville and the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston. As a faculty member, he was deeply involved in research and teaching. He was awarded a grant from the America Cancer Society for research in breast reconstruction. Learn more about Dr. O.  



Dr. Patrick O'Neil

Patrick O'Neil, MD is is board certified by the American Board of Surgery and the American Board of Plastic Surgery as well as holding additional sub-certification in hand and microsurgery. After completing medical school at the University of South Carolina in Charleston, S.C., he completed 9 years of training. This includes a full general surgery and a plastic surgery residency, both at the Medical University of South Carolina, and finally completing a hand and microsurgery fellowship at the Kleinert Institute for Hand and Microsurgery in Louisville, Kentucky. Upon completing training, Dr. O’Neill began working as an attending surgeon at the Medical University of South Carolina in 2000. He continues to work and teach at the Medical University of South Carolina as a Clinical Associate Professor of Surgery.

Learn more about Dr. O'Neil.




Thomas Hahm, MD
Thomas Hahm, MD is a graduate of Emory University and earned his MD from the Emory University School of Medicine. He completed his general surgery and plastic surgery training at the University of Louisville, followed by nine years of extensive fellowship training in craniofacial and cosmetic surgery at Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Hahm specializes in cosmetic and aesthetic surgery. Learn more about Dr. Hahm.