Every Moment Matters
Every Moment Matters
HAVE A QUESTION? Need a doctor referral? Call (843) 402-CARE


Palmetto Gold Winners 2013
Each year the top registered nurses (RN) throughout the state, who exemplify excellence in nursing, are honored by the South Carolina Nurses Foundation with the Palmetto Gold Award.

  • William Fletcher, RN - RN of the Year
  • Avis Alexander, LPN - LON of the Year
  • Louise Sandvig Fratello - Support Staff of the Year
  • Lillian Cooper MS, RN, PCCN – Clinical Manager, Buxton Surgical Pavilion
  • Leslie Horton MSN, RN, PCCN – Staff Nurse, Cardiac Progressive Care Unit
  • Mary Oyer RN-BC, MSN – Staff Nurse, Mobile Resource Pool
  • Stacey Seipel MSN, RN, ONC – Clinical Nurse Specialist, Quality
  • Sherrel Smith MSN, RN-BC, NE-BC – Clinical Nurse Manager, Ortho/Neuro and Joint Replacement
  • Amanda Stremlow RN, PCCN – Nursing Supervisor; Staff Nurse, Mobile Resource Pool


Publications and Research

  • Effects of Multifaceted Strategies to Promote Research Based Nursing Care in a Community Hospital. Pat Cathcart RN, MSN, CSN, CCRN
  • Retrospective Chart Review to Determine the Glucometrics that Most Closely Predicts  Glycemic Control in a Medical and Surgical Population. Mary Jane Plance RN, MSN, CCRN
  • Prospective, Pre-post Intervention Study Evaluating a Family Care Protocol. Miranda Looper RN, BSN, CCRN
  • A Prospective Study Comparing Body Mass Index and Obesity-Related Outcomes between Nurses Living Fit and Contrast Group Nurses. Nancy Spindler RN, BSN, PCCN, Jil Deschenes RN, CPhT & Winnie Hennessy PhD, RN, CHPN
  • The Successful Redesign of a Student Nurse Extern Program. Tanya Lott MSN, RN-BC, Leah S. Willis RN, BSN, MHA, NE-BC & Ellen Lyttle MSN, RN-BC. Journal for Nurses in Staff Development, Volume 27:5, 2011.
  • Successful Implementation of a Staff Chaplain-Facilitated Nursing Support Group. Leah S. Willis RN, BSN, MHA, NE-BC & Capers Limehouse BA, MFA. Nurse Leader Volume 9:6, 2011.
  • Communicating Mission, Strategic Planning, and Professional Identity at a Nursing Retreat. Leah S. Willis RN,BSN, MHA, NE-BC, Diana Topjian RN, MSN, DM, CCRN, Tavia Buck RN, BS, ONC, Markita Ebersole RN, MSN, NE-BC & Wynde Limehouse RN. Nurse Leader Volume 8:5, 2010.
  • The Cockcroft Difference:  An Analysis of the Impact of a Nursing Leadership Development Program. Kate Chappel MSN & Leah S. Willis RN, BSN, MHA, NE-BC. Journal of Nursing Management accepted 2012.
  • Care, Dedication of Nurses Inspire Career Choice. Leah S. Willis RN, BSN, MHA, NE-BC. In Her Words. Post and Courier March 16, 2012.


2012 RN, LPN and Support Staff of the Year

RN, LPN and Support Staff of the Year 2012
Sherry Scott, RN, Nurse in the Surgical Intensive Care Unit   
Virginia Shipman, LPN, Nurse in Ambulatory Surgery
Carolyn Washington, Unit Secretary on General Medicine